MAMT Virtual

Learning through play

Logo MAMT Pedagògic


You can find us at:

Et trobes a:   Home > Temporary exhibitions > Award Ceremony and O...

Award Ceremony and Official Opening of the Diputació of Tarragona 2010 Art Biennial

37th Tapiró Painting Award - 35th Julio Antonio Sculpture Award

From 16 July to 29 August 2010

Award Ceremony and Official Opening of the Diputació of Tarragona 2010 Art Biennial

Every two years, the Diputació of Tarragona holds the Tapiró Painting and Julio Antonio Sculpture Awards as part of the Art Biennial, which aims to promote creativity and research in painting and sculpture. The award is open to all artists resident in Spain.

This competition, which was first held in 1944, has become a shop window, in which art lovers have been able to review artistic creation over a period of more than sixty years.

The award is a double one: a cash prize of 6,000 € for each category and the opportunity to stage an individual exhibition in the temporary exhibition hall of the Museum of Modern Art of Tarragona with the publication of the corresponding catalogue, within a maximum period of two years from the prize award. If the jury considers it appropriate, it may award a second prize of 3,000 € in each category and an Honorary Mention without a financial prize.

The Diputació de Tarragona Art Biennial has achieved renowned prestige and numerous artists compete for the award, which rewards innovation and quality in the content.

The jury of the 2010 edition, chaired by Albert Vallvé Navarro, Chairman of the Culture Committee of the Diputació of Tarragona, was made up of Vicenç Altaió, art critic and Director of the Arts Santa Mònica cultural venue in Barcelona; Teresa Luesma, Director of CDAN, Centre for the Diffusion of Art and Nature, Fundación Beulas, in Huesca; Manel Margalef, artist and lecturer at the Diputació of Tarragona School of Art and Design and the Rovira i Virgili University; Diego Pujal, artist and winner of the 36th Tapiró Painting Award at the 2008 Art Biennial, and Rosa M. Ricomà Vallhonrat, Director of the Museum of Modern Art of the Diputació and Pilar Casas Rom, Head of the Culture Department of the same Institution.

In this edition, prizes were awarded to:


First prize

Piel de Tetas (Tit Skin) by Ester Fabregat Molné

2nd prize

Discursos en la prórroga (Discourses in the prorogation) by Àngel Pomerol Sánchez


First prize

Col·lecció (Collection) by Regina Giménez Froiz

2nd prize

LUX&LOS by Álvar Calvet

Honorary Mentions

MINH_02 by Enric Font Companys

El último paso de la ceremonia
(The final stage of the ceremony) by Eva del Fraile Fiz